triple berry+apricot jam

August 11, 2011 at 8:31 am 1 comment

Our original mission at Styer’s Orchard was to pick some peaches.  To our delight, we found the lemon cucumbers and some cute little apricots!    They were so adorable, we had to pick them!

After blanching, peeling, cutting and chopping, we just didn’t have enough to make 6 or 7 half pints, like I had hoped.

So I looked in the freezer for something else to blend them with and I had some strawberries, blackberries and blueberries frozen from last year’s picking season.  I let them defrost on their own and then gave them a slight mash.

Added the apricots…

This left me with 6 cups of mashed fruits.  I like this amount because it yields about 6-8 of the 1/2 pint jars.  That is enough to get us through to next season and to have some to give away.

I put it on the stove with 3 Tbl. of no/low sugar pectin and 1/4 cup of fresh lemon juice.  Stirred.  Brought it to a hard rolling boil, added 3 cups of sugar and stirred again.  Waited for another hard boil and then let it boil hard for 1 minute.  Tested the gel set on my freezer plate, all was good, took it off the stove and waited 5 minutes to then ladle into hot jars.  Put on the lids and rings, processed in a water bath canner for 10 minutes and then removed.

Let them rest for a day on a towel and then dive into their yummy goodness!

worth the pick?

pick chick says: This was a lovely jam.  It had a bunch of flavor and a beautiful dark color.  I have to say though that those little cute apricots got lost in the mix.  They are so delicate that the powerful berries took over.  This is definitely worth another pick, but if you are really looking for the apricot flavor, I would stick to a straight up apricot jam or blend it with only one other berry or fruit, not three!

pick dude says:  When I fist tasted this jam, I knew it was the most flavorful jams I’ve tasted this season. I found myself eating it right out of the jar.  It was like candy. It’s color, a reddish dark purple, looked awesome in the strained greek yogurt that I put the jams in. The swirls it made were beautiful. I kept saying to myself, “who would want to waste this on bread?!” Triple Berry was a home run!

Entry filed under: create, pick. Tags: , , , , , , .

lemon cucumber? what is that? pesto: traditional and purple

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Bill  |  August 25, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Very good i had the pleasure to try this and it was terrific. Nice work Kids.

    Reply

leave a reply here!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


enter your email address to subscribe to our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

archives…

Recent Posts

Feeds


